Russell Group Universities

Russell Group Universities

Who are the Russell Group? 

The Russell Group is the UK equivalent of the Ivy League in the United States, representing the interests of its members, as well as other further academic institutions, in UK political matters. The group also insures that they receive appropriate research grants and acts as a medium for academic institutions to cooperate and identify opportunities to work together.

Initially created in 1994, its initial 17 members established the group of research universities to represent their interests in the UK parliament. The group, named for their initial meeting place at Hotel Russell in London is now made up of 24 leading UK universities, with members from each nation in the UK. 

What makes the Russell Group stand out? 

The Russell Group provides the following statistics about their group:

  • Were awarded 68% of World-leading UK research grants 
  • A quarter of the UK's undergraduate students enrolled
  • A third of the UK's postgraduate students enrolled  
  • 4/5 Medical and Dental students are enrolled 
  • 58% of Physical Science students are enrolled
  • 63% of Math students are enrolled

Members of the Russell Group also have influence and a strong role within their local and regional communities, supply highly qualified and highly-motivated university graduates to the local workforce and collaborate with businesses and industry leaders on joint research projects. 

Who are the members of the Russell Group? 

Of the 24 members of the Russell Group, 20 are English Universities, 2 are Scottish, 1 university is Welsh and 1 is Northern Irish.

Full list of Russell Group Universities:

Speak to an SI-UK Consultant to learn more about your options at Russell Group universities. 

SI-UK's service is fast, reliable and efficient. My consultant improved my chances of getting into a top university.
Carla T.
International Business Economics at City University

Read more testimonials

  • university-college-london
  • manchester
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Leeds
  • sheffield
  • southampton
  • manchester
  • exeter
  • cardiff
  • warwick
  • loughborough
  • edinburgh
  • bristol
  • lancaster
  • durham
  • bath
  • york
  • st-andrews
  • sussex
  • nottingham
  • aberdeen
  • belfast
  • Oxford Brookes
  • University of Essex
  • National University of Ireland, Galway
  • University of Cumbria
  • Birmingham University
  • Liverpool John Moores University